A Special Rocking Chair

I really try to live by a motto of making the most with what you have.  I don’t always stick to it, but I really try. I don’t like to be wasteful.

It’s fun and challenging to take something old and reinvent it and give it new life. Take this rocking chair for instance.

IMG_1818

Andy’s rocking chair.  Yes, you read that correctly.  This is Andy’s pink rocking chair 😉

Here’s the low down. Andy’s mom bought this chair along with another one at an antique shop many years ago.  Andy sat in this one and he liked it. He asked his mom if he could have it.  She said yes.  And that is why we have this old rocking chair.

Now, I’m not against using the rocking chair somewhere in the house, but I’m not crazy about the pink and I have had a difficult time deciding where it should go.  It’s been sitting in our bedroom for a while, just taunting me with the ugly, old pink fabric.

Well, one day I remembered I had some drop clothes from another project that didn’t turn out quite how I wanted it to.  (I attempted to make my own roman shades with cheap mini blinds that came along with the house.  I’ll spare you the details of how that turned out:  cringe :/) The chair sat for a few days with the drop cloths just laying over it, while I tried to convince myself to take the plunge to take the fabric off the chair and actually make a new covering. I have a hard time committing to completely altering a piece of furniture that has sentimental value, so the chair just continued to sit there.

But today was a new day! And I was feeling motivated! I said to myself, “Hey! You don’t actually have to commit to completely taking the chair apart just yet.  Go grab some scissors and safety pins out of the bathroom and let’s make a temporary cover.” So off I went to get scissors and pins, and thirty minutes later, this happened…IMG_1826

Now before you get to judging me too hard, I do see the wrinkles and don’t intend on leaving it this way forever.  BUT, it surely will do for now! What a difference it makes!  I added a coral throw and sea foam pillow (both from Target) that I had on hand, added a little table from another room (it was my grandmother’s back in the day), and added a lamp from my storage room, and wallah!! A cute little nook!IMG_1824

This project cost me $0!!  Everything I used, I already had.  It’s not perfect, but remember, it doesn’t have to be!  Be creative and make use of the things you have! You will be glad you did!

Aaaand…I hope to share the master bedroom makeover pictures with you soon!  It’s all coming together!

Until then, see if you can dig deep into your creative side and bring life to something you’ve been wanting to revive!

Carrie

Leave a Reply

