It’s been a while…

It’s been a very long while!  I do realize that it’s been 5 months since my last blog post.  Here are my excuses:

1. When Christmas ends, and wintertime sets in, I lose all motivation. The cold weather and early darkness make me SAD (seasonal affective disorder).

2. We did so much work from May to October that I honestly just didn’t want to work on any big projects for a while. FYI, it is very overwhelming to live in a house that you are trying to completely remodel!

3. Several projects couldn’t be completed until we decided on flooring, and we are JUST now deciding on what we want! There are just way too many choices out there.

4. Once nice weather finally arrives, I want to be outside as much as possible.

So today I don’t have any major updates, but I DO have a few little things we’ve been doing over the last 5 months.

First, we have decided on flooring for the den, hallways, and kitchen! We went back and forth between whether we wanted to lay unfinished hardwoods and sand and stain them ourselves, or just go with pre finished. Of course, there are pros and cons to both, so we had to weigh out what would be best for us.

  • We both love the look of wood that has been sanded and stained on site.  It just has a smoother more natural looking appearance. And you don’t have all the seams that you get with pre finished.
  • However, there is way more mess and time involved with laying unfinished wood.  After all the sheet rock work we had done (which I’m STILL cleaning up dust from that), I’m just not sure that I am ready for all that mess again. Plus, all furniture would have to be moved out and WE would probably have to move out for a couple weeks, if not longer, while the floors are being finished.
  • With all that being said, pre finished flooring can pretty much be laid in a weekend, if we are feeling extra motivated 🙂 So pre finished flooring it is! And the prices are pretty comparable for pre finished vs. finished on site.

We still wrestled with the decision for a long time, because we definitely want to make sure we get the best product for our money, but we want it to be what we want, as well. At one point, we even looked at laminates, vinyl, engineered, etc. just to cover all our bases.  There are some pretty good looking options out there in these categories, but we decided solid wood flooring better suits our taste.

IMG_1647

Mocha Oak Scrape Solid Hardwood Flooring from The Home Depot

We plan on buying it in the next week, letting it acclimate to our house for a couple weeks, then we will get to work! Andy can’t wait!!! (sarcasm)

I also purchased my dream sink this summer! Well, maybe it’s not my dream sink, but for the price it will do.  Ikea has an awesome apron front, farmhouse style sink for an excellent price! I’ve been hunting this sink for over a year, because Ikea was having manufacturer issues followed by new design issues.  When the sink finally came back out on the market, I jumped on it like white on rice! 🙂 I planned my trip to Ikea, checked the stock prognosis everyday like a mad man, and once I arrived at Ikea, made a bee line to the kitchen center to get MY sink before they were all gone again.IMG_1009 IMG_1010I know you can’t really experience the full gloriousness of this beauty from these pictures, but trust me! Just wait til you see it in it’s natural habitat…a beautiful kitchen!

Next up:  rocking chairs! A friend of Andy’s gave us these rocking chairs for free!! They were going to throw them away! Can you believe it?! I’ve been wanting rocking chairs FOREVER! Can you tell I was excited about them? 🙂IMG_1263

After a little sanding and a couple of coats of Drizzle from Sherwin Williams

After a little sanding and a couple of coats of Drizzle from Sherwin Williams.

I also made a little canvas gallery wall from some pictures we had made back in the fall.  I was so happy with how they turned out! I plan on building a shelf underneath to fill up the space and allow for a little more decor.IMG_0594 IMG_1650

I bought some new chairs (from Ikea of course) for the living/piano room and moved the love seat to the den.  The chairs in the living room added something that the room had been missing, and now there is more seating in the den. Win/win!

IMG_1649

Of course, Tobie and Katie had to be a part of the picture!

IMG_1081

The chair and ottoman were where the love seat is. Now we can accommodate a few more people!

And finally, on the outside of our house!  A couple weeks ago, on a whim because that’s how we roll, we decided to pull up all the shrubbery along the front of the house.  I have to say that we have been talking about doing this, we just didn’t plan on doing it this soon.  Basically, this is how it went down…

Andy borrows the hedge trimmers from his dad to clean the bushes up a little.  He ends up scalping them.  I don’t like them. Andy says, “do you want to go ahead and pull them all up?” (There were 13-15!!) I say, “we might as well.” Andy pulls the truck around, attaches the chain to the first bush, puts me in the driver’s seat of the truck, and away we go! I have to admit, I had fun pulling up each boxwood and holly bush that have probably been there since the 70’s when the house was built 🙂

IMG_1535

Pre destruction. Notice the scalped bushes.

And of course, then we had to decide what we were going to plant, and being our indecisive selves, it was much more of an ordeal than it should’ve been.  But we’re almost done and it’s going to look so fresh and updated.IMG_1549

I also added some flowers to my planter, bought a spring-y lantern, and made a bow to spruce up the front porch.  You can read all about how I made my planter here.IMG_1598

We closed in between the brick columns underneath our deck, which improved the look of things so much! (I don’t have any good pictures of before/after on this project.) This project also provided me with a good bit of scrap wood for more crafty things. One of the projects that came from that was this monogrammed board that a friend asked me to make for her.  It was a hit and I’ve now made over 20 boards for friends and family! (Psst…be on the lookout for more projects this summer that will be for sale!)IMG_1139

Wow! It feels good to get all of that out! I guess I haven’t been as lazy as I thought! I’m sure most of y’all don’t care about all the little details, but writing sure does make me feel better! You should try it sometime:)

I’ll leave you with one more thing before you head off to do whatever it is you need to do.  One thing I’ve learned this past year as we started the renovations, is that I don’t have to be in a hurry to get everything done!  I have a house to live in. Some people don’t.  I have heating and air conditioning and running water. HOT water! Some people don’t.  Of course I want my house to be pretty.  I think most of us girls can agree to that, but we are never going to be satisfied.  I follow a couple different designers on social media and their houses always look perfect. THAT’S NOT REAL LIFE!! There’s so much more to life than having a perfect house! So enjoy where you’re at! Whether your house is brand new or 100 years old. Whether it’s clean or messy. Whether it looks like it’s stuck in the 70’s (cough, cough) or it’s got the latest and greatest in style and design.  Be thankful!

Happy Memorial Day weekend!

~Carrie

 

 

Leave a Reply

