It’s THE Most Wonderful Time of the Year!

Don’t you agree?! The leaves have all fallen, lawns are brown, and there is a gloominess in the air, but the beauty of Christmas brings new life to everything for just a few weeks.

With all the renovations that we’ve been living in for the past few months, we’re finally to a point where the house is somewhat back in order. I’ve managed to clean up sheetrock dust approximately 1,578 times now, and I think I’ve ALMOST got it all…well, probably not, but a girl can dream can’t she?!

I’ve reached a creative road block, so Christmas couldn’t have come at a better time to allow me to take my mind off of all the projects that need to get done around the house.  Although I know the true reason for the season, it’s still so much fun to decorate for this special time of year, and I want to share our Christmas home with you! So come on in!

Our front door. There's just something I love about the red bow against the blue green door!

Our front door. There’s just something I love about the red bow against the blue green door!

Let’s start in the living room!DSC_1058The woodland theme, which I love, is so popular this year, so I thought it would be fun to go with that in the living room.  I also added a red and white pillow to a few pillows I already had to give a more Christmasy feel.

My grandmother made the tree skirt many years ago, so it has special meaning.

My grandmother made the tree skirt many years ago, so it has special meaning.

 

DSC_1063DSC_1064I added a few things to my shelves, like the JOY light up sign, the NOEL candle holders and the miniature nativity scene. Let’s just talk about that nativity scene for a moment.  Back in the day, my mom and I used to go to something called ceramics.  Do y’all remember doing this??? We went to this lady’s house and we would paint all these ceramic figurines and then she would bake them for us. I must say, I remember having lots of fun! What a fun little trip down memory lane!DSC_1068DSC_1070 DSC_1073 DSC_1075Then there’s this sweet little tree that one of my parents’ neighbors made so many years ago. Isn’t it cute?!DSC_1078Let’s head up to the Master Bedroom! There’s really not too much to see there, except for the cute little Charlie Brown Christmas tree my sister gave me last year.  It was just what I needed to bring a little Christmas cheer to the bedroom!DSC_0001I should add that y’all are getting little glimpses of the master bedroom and den that we’ve been working so hard on, but I haven’t had a chance to give a full room reveal. I can’t give away all my secrets just yet, though! 😉

On we go to the den! This time last year, the den was full of dark paneling and the mantle was a dark cherry red. I really didn’t have the motivation to decorate it at all.  But THIS year is a different story! I love how it’s turned out so far! (Pay no attention to the curtainless windows and bare walls. That’s where my creativity has failed me in recent weeks)

DSC_0002 DSC_0005 DSC_0006 DSC_0007 DSC_0009 DSC_0011 DSC_0012 DSC_0015 DSC_0016 DSC_0017 DSC_0024 DSC_0028I’ve come to the conclusion that every girl should have some lanterns and chalkboards in their decorating arsenal.  They are so versatile and easy to change with each season!

And just for fun, and so you know that my house is far from being in perfect order, here is the other side of the den…DSC_0030Leftover sheetrock, a door that wasn’t installed properly, a ladder, a yard sale box, a box of mail, etc., etc., etc.  Honestly, it doesn’t bother me one bit…at the moment 😉

If you don’t read any other part of the blog today, I hope you will stay with me for this part. As beautiful as Christmas is, and as much fun as it is to decorate and shop, and go to Christmas parties and concerts, we wouldn’t be able to do any of this if it weren’t for Jesus.DSC_1081He came as a baby, to live with us on Earth, so that he could die a horrific death so that we could live with him for eternity.  One of my favorite Christmas songs is “Do You Hear What I Hear?” In the last verse, it says

The Child, The Child

Sleeping in the night

He will bring us goodness and light

DSC_0023I hope you enjoyed my little mini Christmas tour and I hope you each have a wonderful Christmas season! I’ll leave you with a couple sweet pictures 🙂DSC_109110404404_10154831628100456_8757383206741899797_nMerry Christmas!!!

Leave a Reply

