DIY Wooden Planter

A couple weeks ago, I showed you my new mantel and a little bit of fall decor, and I told you I had one other fall project I wanted to share with you.  Well, here it is. My new front porch planter!

IMG_1958One Sunday afternoon, a few weeks ago, I was feeling inspired and had been trying to come up with some new front porch decor.  I’ve been wanting some cute wooden planters for a while, but just wasn’t willing to pay what the stores were asking.  So being my creative self, 🙂 and remembering that we still had some scrap wood left over from some other projects, I got to work!

IMG_1880

IMG_1885

You’re impressed with my sawing skills 🙂

I really wanted to use 1×4’s, but didn’t have any on hand.  So I used 2×4’s instead. I determined the size of the box based on the pots I was currently using on the porch.  They were 12 inches in diameter so I decided I wanted the inside of the box to be 12×12. Since 2×4’s don’t measure exactly 2 inches thick, (they measure 1.5 inches thick, just so you know) I had to take that into consideration when figuring out how long to cut each board.  I will spare you all the calculations and just tell you that I cut each board to 15 inches.

IMG_1887After I made all my cuts, I was ready to start building. IMG_1892Even though I feel pretty comfortable using a saw, I’m still a little leery of nail guns, so I had Andy step in to help me with this part. We nailed the first layer together, then continued adding each layer, alternating how the corners line up.

IMG_1893We then nailed two corner pieces inside the box for extra stability.  These were some scraps we had from tearing out the cabinets in the den. Andy gives me a hard time about keeping scraps, but look how handy they end up being! My dad, being from New York originally, would call this yankee thrift! 😉IMG_1894After all the nailing was finished, I was ready to begin staining. I used Minwax Dark Walnut for this part.  This has become my go to stain color of choice lately.  I’ve been working on another project using this stain that I’m almost finished with and can’t wait to show you!IMG_1897And here is the original finished project. It turned out a little bulkier than I would have liked for it to be, but I was liking it so far.  I just felt like it was missing something…DSC_0878Let me pause here for a moment and tell you about what I filled it with 🙂 I knew I didn’t want flowers, although I know some bright yellow mums would look amazing.  I just didn’t really want to fool with making sure they stayed watered.  So I opted for a shepherd’s hook with a lantern. I added an LED candle that is on a timer, so it comes on every evening around 6 and stays on for 4 hours.  It looks sooo cute at night! I spray painted some pumpkins that I had in storage, threw some sticks and pine cones in around them, and topped it off with a bow.  Let me just say, my mom did not pass her bow making gene on to me, but it’s not too horrible, right?! I’d also like to add that it was very difficult trying to find pine cones! During my search I realized that this is the first house I have ever lived in where there are no pine trees! But I digress…

As I said a moment ago, I loved how it was shaping up, but it was just still missing something. That’s when I came across an old wreath with our initial on it and I knew exactly what the planter needed!IMG_1958I still need to actually attach the ‘P’ to the box, but I think it was exactly what was needed! The bow has not held up very well as you can see in this picture, but it’s hanging in there.

I’m pretty happy with how it turned out and I can’t wait to decorate it for Christmas!! Which, by the way, is not that far away!!! So exciting!

How are your fall decorations coming along?  Have you tackled any DIY projects lately?

Carrie

 

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Wooden Planter

  1. Pingback: DIY Headboard & Ikea Bed Hack | Loving Dogwood Lane

  2. Pingback: It’s been a while… | Loving Dogwood Lane

Leave a Reply

