Finally!!! My 5th Pinterest Recipe

I’m FINALLY getting around to posting my 5th Pinterest recipe! I really wasn’t inspired by anything I had pinned…until my father-in-law gave me some fresh-from-the-garden tomatoes! After a couple of amazing tomato sandwiches and a conversation with my friend, Alicia, I knew what my final recipe would be…tomato pie!!!

Now to some of you this may sound gross.  When I told Andy what I was going to make he had two thoughts for me:  “ew” and “that sounds gross”. He’s my encourager 🙂 I have to say, he isn’t a fan of tomatoes so he probably won’t be trying this one out with me.  And to be honest, whenever I heard someone talk about tomato pie, I thought the same thing: “ew!” Pies should be made of apples, or blueberries, or some other sweet goodness, NOT tomatoes.

Well, I decided to do some Pinterest searches for Tomato Pie recipes, and of course I found many! You can find the recipe I used here. However, I did make a couple changes.  It calls for a “good quality mayonnaise” like Hellman’s. Um, she must not know that Duke’s is the king of mayonnaise in these parts 😉  Also, I used a mexican blend of shredded cheese, because it’s what I had on hand, and a regular pie crust rather than deep dish.  Not major changes, but changes nonetheless.

I’m just going to cut to the chase here and tell you that you need to make a tomato pie NOW! It was so good! Why have I never had this before?!

DSC_0759  DSC_0770

Two things:  It is very rich! I think she even mentions that in the recipe, so eat it in small amounts.  Also, I noticed someone made a comment in the comments section that the bottom of their pie didn’t cook completely.  I had the same problem.  I cooked mine for 25 minutes, but I’m thinking 30 would’ve gotten the job done. And I may have needed to dry the tomatoes out a little more.

This is a perfect summer recipe and you should definitely give it a try!  By the way, Andy did not partake in the tasting of this pie.  Tomatoes are just completely out of the question for him. He doesn’t know what he’s missing 🙂

Now that my Pinterest recipe posts are finished, be on the lookout for more posts from our house projects.  Our sheetrock guy is starting this week, which means I get to start painting soon!! I’m so excited and can’t wait to show you what we’ve been doing!

Go be great!

Carrie

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

