Our Front Door Makeover

Let me start by saying I am well aware that I have one more post due in my 5 Nights of Pinterest Recipes series.  I haven’t been very inspired by any of my pins lately, and I took a quick little trip to the beach last week, so hopefully I will get to that last one sometime this week. Until then…

Let me let you in on a little project I worked on last weekend: our boring, blah, very traditional front door.

DSC_0694

Red is NOT one of my favorite colors (just ask my husband!) And brass, well, it just isn’t my thing.  Also, the shutters are burgundy, so this door just wasn’t fitting in around here.

DSC_0696See. It’s just blah! Nothing matches! And yes, those are weeds growing between the bricks of the steps…don’t judge! 😉

I would LOVE to buy a new front door, but that really isn’t in the project budget right now.  So a little bit of paint will have to do!

I started by taking off all of the hardware: knobs, kick plate, numbers, and knocker.  I gave them a couple of coats of oil-rubbed bronze spray paint.

This was my audience.  They were just as excited as I was to have a front door makeover 🙂

DSC_0698

Aren’t they sweet!

Ok, back to the door.  I gave it a light sanding to smooth out the rough spots, and applied the first coat.

DSC_0702

What a difference already?! For the color, I decided on Sherwin Williams Drizzle in their Resilience Exterior Latex.

Sherwin Williams Drizzle

Sherwin Williams Drizzle

I think it’s the perfect balance of blue and green!  I will probably use this color somewhere else inside.  I really like it!

I painted two coats on the front door (I love the way Sherwin Williams paint covers!), added the oil-rubbed bronze hardware, and I was finished!  Such an easy project!

DSC_0710

I know this isn’t the greatest “after” picture, but I’m still learning the ropes on my new camera and trying to figure out lighting and all that fun stuff. But I think you get the basic idea 🙂  It brightens up the exterior so much!

See, you don’t have to spend big bucks to make a difference around your house! A little creativity (and paint!) go a long way!

Carrie

7 thoughts on “Our Front Door Makeover

  1. Pingback: Our Board and Batten Room-Part 2 | Loving Dogwood Lane

Leave a Reply

