5 Nights of Pinterest Recipes-Night 1

I don’t really have much going on this week in the way of DIY projects, so I thought I would do a little bit of cooking.  Shocker right?! These next few posts kind of fall into the same category as my last post in the fact that I pin so many recipes to my food board on Pinterest, but I NEVER actually make any of them!

But this week, that changes!

Let me bring you up to speed on my cooking abilities.  Basically, cooking is NOT my thing.  I’m ok at it, but I don’t really enjoy it that much, and I definitely don’t enjoy the clean up.  I feel like I get stuck in a rut and fix the same things all the time. I’m sure many of you can relate!

So here I am, blogging about food.  This will probably be a rare occurrence on my blog, considering the reasons stated above, but I figure I can do anything for 5 days.  We are excellent at eating out every night :), so this will be a nice change of pace for us, and a little nicer on our waists and pocketbooks!

My first victim is this recipe for Chicken Parm Meatballs.

Does that not look so yummy?! I’m sure some of you have seen this one floating around Pinterest recently.  I LOVE meatballs so I just had to give these a try!

Here’s a little rundown of how things went.  It didn’t take long at all to make the actual meatballs.  VERY easy! Pop ’em in the oven, and 15 minutes later they are almost ready.  Add some cheese and sauce, brown the cheese, and you’re ready to go! While they are cooking you have time to fix a side.  The recipe calls for a kale salad, but we like spinach, so I sautéed some onions, mushrooms, and spinach for our side. It’s my sneaky way of getting Andy to eat some greens 🙂

Here’s my version of the Chicken Parm Meatballs…

DSC_0665

Now I’m no food artist or anything, but that looks pretty darn good if I don’t say so myself 🙂

Here’s the good news:  the hubs liked it!! It’s hard to win him over sometimes with new meals, but he said he would eat it again. Haha!

Here’s the not so good news:  the texture of the meatballs was a little weird for me.  I’ve never cooked with ground chicken so maybe I just need some practice.  I think it would be better with ground beef, but honestly, what isn’t better with beef?! Also, the lemon zest was a little bit of a weird taste.  I would probably leave that out if I made these again.  And just so you know, these two things only bothered me, not the hubs.

I believe night 1 was a success!  I’m really excited about tomorrow’s dinner, but you’ll have to check back tomorrow to see what it is 😉

Do you have some favorite Pinterest recipes?  Or are you like me and pin a bunch, but never cook any of them?

 

Carrie

2 thoughts on “5 Nights of Pinterest Recipes-Night 1

  1. I don’t ever use ground chicken. I am big in texture and it kinda grosses me out. I try to do 1 or 2 new recipes a week. Most come from Pinterest.

Leave a Reply

