Mason Jar Sconces

I think we all have a board on Pinterest dedicated to craft projects we would love to see in our own homes one day.  We pin them thinking surely we will get to all of them eventually!  Guess how many craft ideas I’ve pinned that I’ve actually gotten around to doing…one, MAYBE two.  Is anyone else in the same boat here?

The one project that I’ve been wanting to do for a while is mason jar sconces. I’ve had the materials sitting in my garage for a while now.  FREE materials I might add.  My mom gave me a box of old mason jars that she was going to throw away.  A whole box y’all! They were on my parents’ back porch just wasting away when I rescued them from their certain death at the landfill!!

I was inspired last week to finally make some!  People, this was not a hard project at all.  I already had the jars, the wood, and most of the hardware and paint.  I had the sconces finished in one evening.  I even managed to squeeze a little help out of my sweetie 🙂 He’s such a good sport!

DSC_0636

I started with some 5/4 deck boards that we had left over from when we built a deck at our last house. (And my husband wonders why I always want to keep scraps!).  One piece was already the exact length I needed it to be. I held up one of the jars to the board and said, “Yeah, that looks about right.” Andy powered up the chop saw, I lined up the second board with the first one, and sawed away. One cut and I was ready to paint!

DSC_0639

Now there are many different methods to doing rub through on things, but I worked with what I had and with whatever would be the quickest.  I am not the most patient person in the world, and when I get an idea to do something, I better get it done ASAP or it will just be half way finished for several months.

I had some dark brown spray paint, so I used that as my base layer on the boards.   I let those dry for about an hour, then I put a light coat of white spray paint.  I let that dry for about 30 minutes, then took the boards in and gave them a light sanding.  The hubs helped me wrap the wire around the jars, put the nails in, and add the hanging hardware on the back.  We then hung them up and…

Tada!

DSC_0646DSC_0649

DSC_0652

What kind of projects do you have pinned that you hope to work on soon? Or have you already been working on a Pinterest project?  What do you have lying around the house that could be repurposed?

I challenge you this week to find something around your house that you can breathe new life into!

Carrie

 

P.S. Be on the lookout for an update on my board and batten room next week!  I hope to make some fun updates and changes to it over the weekend 🙂

3 thoughts on “Mason Jar Sconces

  1. Pingback: Our Board and Batten Room-Part 2 | Loving Dogwood Lane

Leave a Reply

