Back in Business!

I know you’ve all been DYING to know what’s been going on at Dogwood Lane since I haven’t blogged in a few weeks.  I’m sure you will all feel very sorry for me when I tell you we took a fun little trip to HAWAII!!

DSC_0128

Hawaii is my absolute favorite place on earth…granted I haven’t really visited many tropical paradises.  But seriously, it is so beautiful words and pictures just can’t describe it.  If you have never been, you need to go NOW.  Book your tickets.  Book your hotel.  Just go! You won’t regret it!

So we returned from Hawaii and then we puppy sat for some friends for a week.   We had a full house of dogs and got zero projects done.  Which is ok because who can resist these sweet little faces?!

DSC_0556

 

Haha! Just kidding!

This week, we were able to get back into the swing of things.  In my last blog, I let you all in on the bedroom project:  wallpaper! The good news is, all the wallpaper has been removed in the bedroom.  The bad news is, we are going to have to call in some professionals to help us with skimming the walls.  There are just some things we don’t want to do ourselves, and this is one of them!  Soooo, since we decided we were going to have to call someone in, we figured we might as well go ahead and remove all the wallpaper in the house so Sheetrock Dude could repair any walls that needed fixin’. This resulted in us deciding to rent a steamer on Memorial Day and begin removing wallpaper in the kitchen and master bathroom.  Let me just show you the beautiful wall decor…

DSC_0585DSC_0584

So 1990’s don’t you think?? Unfortunately, I don’t have any before pictures of the bathroom, but just think tropical theme.   It’s ok though, because it’s going to be pretty awesome when it’s finished that you won’t even care about what it looked like before. 🙂

I just have to say, that renting a steamer was one of the smartest things we’ve done in a long time! Both rooms have 2 layers of wallpaper to pull down, so having the steamer has made things go so much faster.  Unfortunately, whoever decided to put the first round of wallpaper up in the kitchen in 197o something, didn’t think it was necessary to prime the walls first, which makes it LOTS of fun to pull off of sheetrock.  (Can you sense the sarcasm yet?)  Our goal this week is to get every last piece of paper off our walls and maybe even start pulling paneling down, so Sheetrock Dude can get in here and get to work!  Side note: not only was the paneling nailed to the wall, but for extra hold someone decided to glue it as well.  That will be a post for another time though!

Until then, have a wonderful week and go be great!

 

Carrie

 

 

One thought on “Back in Business!

  1. Carrie, you are a multi~gifted and multi~task oriented woman of God. I don’t argue politics or religion. In fact, I do not care for my friends sharing them on my wall. Those two things are as personal as my bra and panty sizes (now I’m being sarcastic). I would much rather discuss your creativity.

    I do not think “religion” I do not have religion; I have a personal relationship with my Heavenly Father. A new slant to studying the Word: In the verses I read each day, I am looking for words or phrases that depict the attributes and character of Jesus. Then I write them down and meditate on them and would you believe, the OT, especially the Psalms, has more than the NT.

    Now I have delivered my sermon. You didn’t know I was a preacher, did you?
    You know, Carrie, I live a lonely life. Sometimes I don’t see or talk to anyone but Unkie for a whole week. So, I bounce off sweets like you. Don’t misunderstand; I love talking to him but I rarely get responses. He is no longer as communicative as he once was. It pains me deeply to feel him slipping away. Pray for us.

    Now! Good news! I am so thankful for you and the illumination your life emits to me. I love your ability to play the piano. This Memorial Day I have rehearsed in my mind the beautiful song you played and sang for Eddie. I believe he heard you.

    Well, goodnight. I’ m going to try and publish this book. ha! luv u heaps. I’ll buy you lunch if you’ll come to see me.

Leave a Reply

