A Little Sneak Peek!

I thought I would give you a little peek into what I’ve been working on the last couple weeks.  Here’s a hint… IMG_1294 You guessed it! Wall paper!!  With each strip I pull down, I find myself wondering, “What were people thinking?!”  I mean, why did someone think it was a good idea to stick decorative paper on the walls?  I think what baffles me even more is the fact that there are designers today, in 2014, using wall paper in their design projects! Have we not learned anything from the mistakes of the 80’s?! Oh well! Back to the wall paper.  This paper is in our master bedroom.  Here’s a before shot so you can see the entire effect of the lovely decor: IMG_1292 IMG_1291   Here’s a look at the progress I have made: IMG_1335   It is like a completely different room already, and it has given me motivation to get this project finished! To be able to already have an idea of what it will eventually look like is so exciting! The room feels so much bigger and brighter AND the paint color underneath just happens to be pretty close to the color I’m wanting to go with!  I love the blue grays that are so popular right now, however, choosing a paint color is the hardest part for me.  It NEVER looks the same as the paint chip, so I will tape them all up on the walls for a few days and decide which color I want to live with for a while. paint chips Now, for the actual process of taking down the wall paper, it hasn’t been too extremely horrible.  The first few strips were a little bit of a challenge as I was trying to figure out the best way to go about it, but once I pulled out the trusty scraper, it got much easier.  I’ve pulled off a few chunks of sheet rock paper, but nothing that can’t be fixed pretty easily.  I’m sure some of you out there know of different tips and tricks to remove wall paper, but I have found that a squirt bottle of water, a scraper, and some patience go a long way.  And you don’t have to spend any decorating funds on unnecessary supplies.  🙂 So that’s where I am right now.  It’s slow going, but I know it will get done eventually. One step at a time!

3 thoughts on “A Little Sneak Peek!

  1. When you think you’ve found the color you want, buy a sample and paint a foam poster board. You can move it around the room to see how it looks as the light changes through out the day. Love the blog!

  2. Pingback: The End is in Sight! | Loving Dogwood Lane

Leave a Reply

